Youtube Mixtape #5: Top 10 Teenage Albums

There’s this thing going around Facebook right now where people post a list of their top 10 favorite albums from their teenage years. Reminds me of Livejournal, back when we were all posting personality test results. I wasn’t going to bother until Chris Onstad, the guy behind the webcomic Achewood, posted his along with a link to a song from each album. It’s interesting to see the stuff that the people you admire found compelling in their youth. Anyway, here’s my version of the list, in alphabetical order because I scrolled through my mp3 collection to make it:

The Beatles – Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band

Within You, Without You – My mother did not like this one because of the droney sitar

 

The Chemical Brothers – Dig Your Own Hole

Where do I Begin?

 

David Bowie – Earthling

Dead Man Walking

 

Depeche Mode – Music for the Masses

Strangelove

 

Foo Fighters – The Colour and the Shape

Everlong – This song was a revelation

 

KMFDM – Angst

A Hole in the Wall

 

Nine Inch Nails – The Downward Spiral

Mr. Self Destruct

 

Queen – A Night at the Opera (My mother’s copy, on cassette. It melted in my car on a particularly hot Florida day)

The Prophet’s Song

 

Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream (The Pumpkins were My Band as a teen. So many emotions.)

Spaceboy

 

They Mights Be Giants – Severe Tire Damage

Dr. Worm

Leave a comment